Day 18: Hard Work

The 100 Day Writing Challenge

Aditi Sarawagi
1 min readJan 8, 2021

There is no substitute to hard work. This has long been glorified and some would say, adds to performance stress at work or life in general. The optimist in me would like to believe that things come easy in life and it doesn’t have to be hard.

Both the scenarios seem true in one situation or the other, but over time I have realised that you value the things you have toiled for, more than the ones you have gotten easily. Having said that, I am in no way romanticising burning the midnight oil because I have been on both sides of the conundrum. I have stayed up multiple nights hustling and getting work done and in the end exhausting myself so much, that I quit when well I shouldn’t have but that’s what my life demanded of me at that time.

On the off side, I have been off work and that can affect your self-confidence in a way which really more should be spoken about. At the risk of sounding diplomatic and a shitty writer who doesn’t have an opinion, I will end this piece by the age old adage of too much of anything being harmful and all that.

It is upto you to find the correct balance between hard work and taking it easy depending on what stage of life you are in, what you are going through, what are your requirements and top priorities and what sets your mind free. You get to choose.

--

--